The Latest Buzz

Everything you need to know about new books, reading programs, and notes from our awesome authors!

Find Articles

Search by title, author, series, or tag below.

Find Articles by Category

Select a category below.

New book from civil rights activist and icon Ruby Bridges

This Is Your Time

This Is Your Time By Ruby Bridges

Inspired by the recent wave of activism led by young people fighting for racial justice, civil rights icon Ruby Bridges--who, at the age of six, was the first black child to integrate an all-white elementary school in New Orleans--shares her story and offers a powerful call to action with this elegant gift book.

Written as a letter from civil rights activist and icon Ruby Bridges to the reader, This Is Your Time is both a recounting of Ruby's experience as a child who had no choice but to be escorted to class by federal marshals when she was chosen as one of the first black students to integrate New Orleans' all-white public school system and an appeal to generations to come to effect change.

This beautifully designed volume features historical photographs from the 1960s and from today, as well as stunning jacket art from The Problem We All Live With, the 1964 painting by Norman Rockwell of Ruby's walk to school.

Ruby's honest and impassioned words, imbued with love and grace, serve as a moving reminder that "what can inspire tomorrow often lies in our past." This Is Your Time will electrify people of all ages as the struggle for liberty and justice for all continues, and the powerful legacy of Ruby Bridges endures.

Ruby Bridges

Ruby Bridges is a civil rights activist who, at the age of six, was the first black student to integrate an all-white elementary school in New Orleans. She was born in Mississippi in 1954, the same year the United States Supreme Court handed down its landmark decision ordering the integration of public schools. Her family later moved to New Orleans, where on November 14, 1960, Bridges began attending William Frantz Elementary School, single-handedly initiating the desegregation of public education in New Orleans. Her walk to the front door of the building was immortalized in Norman Rockwell's famous painting The Problem We All Live With, in Robert Coles's book The Story of Ruby Bridges, and in the Disney movie Ruby Bridges.

This Is Your Time is her first book in over twenty years, following the publication of her award-winning autobiography Through My Eyes.

New STEAM Picture Books

Rocket Says Clean Up!

Rocket Says Clean Up! By Nathan Bryon; illustrated by Dapo Adeola

Plucky science-lover Rocket returns in another inspiring picture book about getting a community to notice the world around them, and, in this book, to CLEAN UP! their shoreline.

Rocket, is off to the islands to visit her grandparents. Her family loves nothing better than to beach comb and surf together...but the beach is clogged with trash! When she finds a turtle tangled in a net, Rocket decides that something must be done! Like a mini Greta Thunberg, our young activist's enthusiasm brings everyone together...to clean up the beach and prevent plastics from spoiling nature. Perfect for fans of Rocket Says Look Up! and Ada Twist, Scientist, this book is for any youngster concerned about our environment. Rocket Says Clean Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big and tackle problems head-on.

Stand Up! Speak Up!

Stand Up! Speak Up! By Andrew Joyner

From a #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator, and the creator of The Pink Hat, comes a timely picture book about a young girl's mission to inspire others to help the planet!

Celebrate young climate change activists in this charming story about an empowered girl who shows up, listens up, and ultimately, speaks up to inspire her community to take action against climate change. After attending a climate march, a young activist is motivated to make an effort and do her part to help the planet... by organizing volunteers to work to make green changes in their community, from cleaning a lake, to planting trees, to making composting bins, to hosting a clothing swap and more! Here is an uplifting picture book that is an important reminder that no change is too small--and no person is too young--to make a difference.

With simple text and lively illustrations, Andrew Joyner has given young children a timely story about activism, community, and hope.

Stay Curious!

Stay Curious! By Kathleen Krull and Paul Brewer; illustrated by Boris Kulikov

A picture-book biography about science superstar Stephen Hawking, whose visionary mind revolutionized our concept of reality and whose struggle with ALS inspired millions. Perfect for parents and teachers looking to instill curiosity and a love for STEM.

As a young boy, Stephen Hawking loved to read, stargaze, and figure out how things worked. He looked at the world and always asked, Why?

He never lost that curiosity, which led him to make groundbreaking discoveries about the universe as a young man. Even being diagnosed with ALS didn't slow Stephen down. Those questions kept coming. As his body weakened, Stephen's mind expanded--allowing him to unlock secrets of the universe and become one of the most famous scientists of all time.

Stephen always approached life with courage, a sense of humor, and endless curiosity. His story will encourage readers to look at the world around them with new eyes.