New Graphic Novels Coming in Fall 2022!

Your favorite characters are back this fall! From continuing series to familiar  faces new to the graphic novel format, there is a lot to love!

 

Max Meow Book 1: Cat Crusader

Max Meow Book 1: Cat Crusader By John Gallagher

Meet a secret superhero with CAT-ITUDE--Max Meow, Cat Crusader--in this purr-fectly awesome, hiss-sterically funny graphic novel series just right for fans of Dog Man and InvestiGators!


Max is just a regular cat in Kittyopolis, trying to make it big as a podcaster UNTIL he accidentally takes a bite of an RADIOACTIVE SPACE MEATBALL at his best friend Mindy's SECRET LAB. Then before you can say MEOWZA, Max becomes...The CAT CRUSADER! Being a super hero is fun--but not if you get so cocky, you forget your best friend! Will Max and Mindy make up? And together, can they save Kittyopolis from the evil Agent M and BIG BOSS?! Find out in this furr-ociously funny series! BONUS: Includes how to draw Max Meow!

"Funny, furry and fantastic!" --Judd Winick, New York Times Bestselling Creator of the Hilo series

"Max Meow's super heroics will have kids meow-ling with laughter!" --John Patrick Green, creator of the InvestiGators series

Doodleville #2: Art Attacks!

Doodleville #2: Art Attacks! By Chad Sell

Drew and her mischievous doodles are back—and planning a heist-in-reverse at the Art Institute of Chicago—in the sequel to Doodleville, which Lincoln Peirce calls “a masterpiece.”

Drew never meant for this to happen. She didn’t mean for her doodle Mike to steal the centuries-old hat. She didn’t mean for Levi to steal the centuries-old baby (when he was supposed to be returning the coveted hat!). And she definitely didn’t mean to send the Art Institute of Chicago into a downward spiral of art-on-art combat.
 
She just wanted to fix a simple mistake!
 
Now everything’s gone wrong, and it’s mayhem at the museum. Drew is sure she’s going to become public enemy #1, wanted posters and all.
 
But it turns out Drew and her art club might be the museum’s only chance at resolution and restoration. Can they fix it before centuries worth of masterpieces are destroyed forever?

The BIG Adventures of Babymouse: Once Upon a Messy Whisker (Book 1)

The BIG Adventures of Babymouse: Once Upon a Messy Whisker (Book 1) By Jennifer L. Holm; illustrated by Matthew Holm

NEW adventures, BIGGER imagination, same MESSY WHISKERS -- Babymouse learns to be careful what you wish for in this BIG brand-new FULL-COLOR graphic novel series, perfect for young readers who love to laugh!

Babymouse has a BIG imagination. In her dreams, she's the BEST at everything -- she's the coolest, the smartest, the strongest, and she DEFINITELY has nice, neat whiskers! In real life? Not so much. But WHAT IF Babymouse could make her fantasies come true...?

Mayor Good Boy

Mayor Good Boy By Dave Scheidt and Miranda Harmon

There's a new dog in town! Finally Greenwood gets the mayor they've been waiting for--Mayor Good Boy! In this graphic novel, a very good dog is going to save his town, one hilarious try at a time.

The votes are in and the new mayor is...A DOG?!
 
This dog will do more than shake paws. Mayor Good Boy is here to help Greenwood become a town filled with kindness, starting with fetching help for the local zoo. With foes around every corner trying to put a stop to Mayor Good Boy's campaign of fun, are there cheese snacks and belly rubs in his future? Or will the whole town suddenly have a flea problem?
 
In the hilarious Mayor Good Boy graphic novel series, everyone can make the world a better place, whether you’re a human or a dog.

Sweet Valley Twins: Best Friends

Sweet Valley Twins: Best Friends By Francine Pascal; illustrated by Claudia Aguirre

Jessica and Elizabeth are ready to take on middle school . . . but are they ready to take on each other? The New York Times bestselling world of Sweet Valley returns in these all-new graphic novel adaptations!

Jessica and Elizabeth have always been inseparable twins, but starting middle school means a chance for new beginnings! Elizabeth is excited to organize a school newspaper, but Jessica is more interested in joining the exclusive Unicorn Club. What will happen when the twins realize they might not be as alike as they thought?

Middle school is hard enough, but with these twins each dealing with becoming their own person--will they be able to stay friends at the same time?

Francine Pascal’s beloved Sweet Valley Twins comes to life in a brand-new graphic novel that will have old and new fans delighted as they meet Jessica and Elizabeth in graphic novel form. With the lively artwork of Claudia Aguirre, Sweet Valley Twins: Best Friends is a contemporary middle-grade graphic novel filled with heart, laughter, and lots of twins.

Witches of Brooklyn: S'More Magic

Witches of Brooklyn: S'More Magic By Sophie Escabasse

You can take a witch out of Brooklyn . . . and put her in the woods? As if learning magic wasn’t hard enough, now Effie has to go to SUMMER CAMP! The hit middle-grade graphic novel series continues with this new adventure that's filled to the brim with magic and mayhem!

School’s out, and Effie is ready for SUMMER! Too bad she’s being sent off to the wilderness for boring old summer camp. Nothing says “exciting new adventure” like being stuck in nature with mosquitoes. Sure, other witches might be there. And maybe she’ll learn some cool new magic.
 
But Effie would rather spend time with the friends she already has. She’s always relied on them for help. . . . What will happen when she heads off to camp all by herself?
 
Sophie Escabasse brings us more magic in this new volume of Witches of Brooklyn!

Author Post: Andrea Beatriz Arango

I’ve always loved books that are in conversation with each other. As a kid, and now as an adult, the references that authors would sprinkle throughout their novels seemed like small gifts—side quests I could explore once I was done reading that particular book. Twelve-year-old me didn’t have the gift of Google, but that didn’t stop me from doing my very best to follow the breadcrumb trails some authors left behind. Iveliz Explains It All is written in verse because Iveliz loves poetry. This, combined with the fact that kids nowadays often have their own phones or can easily connect to the internet at school, shaped the references I included for Iveliz’s readers to find.

I don’t remember when I first discovered spoken word poetry, but I was old enough that this discovery happened on YouTube and not in real life. I remember watching, transfixed, wishing that slam poetry nights and competitions existed anywhere close to home. Not so I could perform myself, necessarily, but so I could watch. I was hypnotized by the confidence of these poets and their way with words, enamored with how much more these poems felt like storytelling and not just verse. Discovering this kind of poetry not only shaped me as a writer but completely transformed how I taught poetry. Teenagers who once had groaned at the thought of our poetry unit were now engaged. These poets spoke to them in ways the ones in their textbooks didn’t, and I loved getting to see some of them write their own poems to perform in class.

It would be many more years before I discovered novels-in-verse, but when I finally did, it was like everything I loved about spoken word and novels had merged into an art form I could have never imagined. Here were written poems, storytelling poems, speaking an entire novel without a single paragraph. These books were beautiful, heartfelt, and just begging to be read aloud.

Elizabeth Acevedo was the first Latinx poet I found who did both. Her slam poems about her name and her hair had me in tears. When The Poet X came out a few years later, I knew she was carving a path to something different, though I didn’t yet believe publishing my own work was a dream I could achieve. Later, during the pandemic, I found Elisabet Velasquez on Instagram. She had a book deal by then, and I remember thinking: There are Puerto Ricans out here doing this. Yo puedo hacer esto también. The poem Iveliz’s friend Amir gives her toward the end of the book is from Elisabet’s debut YA novel, When We Make It, because by the time Iveliz and I had reached the end of this story, it felt like we had made it, too.

All this to say that there are so many poets out there sharing their words through various media. The internet has made it so wonderfully easy for people to experience each other’s work. And while I don’t know if every reader will look up the poets I reference in my book, I’d love to imagine teachers and librarians using these references in lessons—showing kids that there are so many different ways to be an artist, to be a writer, and if they want to create poetry, they absolutely can.

Andrea Beatriz Arango

Andrea Beatriz Arango

Andrea Beatriz Arango was born and raised in Puerto Rico. She has an EdS in reading education and works as a public school ESOL teacher by day and as a writer by night. Andrea balances her life in Virginia with trips home to see her family and eat lots of tostones de pana. When she’s not busy, you can always find her enjoying nature in the nearest forest or body of water. Iveliz Explains It All is her debut novel.

Iveliz Explains It All

Iveliz Explains It All By Andrea Beatriz Arango; illustrated by Alyssa Bermudez

How do you speak up when it feels like no one is listening? In this moving novel in verse that Printz Honor-winning author Lisa Fipps calls "powerful," one girl takes on seventh grade while facing mental health challenges, and must find her voice to advocate for the help and understanding she deserves.

Listen up:
The end of elementary school?
Worst time of my life.
And the start of middle school?
I just wasn’t quite right.
But this year?
YO VOY A MI.

Seventh grade is going to be Iveliz’s year. She’s going to make a new friend, help her abuela Mimi get settled after moving from Puerto Rico, and she is not going to get into any more trouble at school. . . .

Except is that what happens? Of course not. Because no matter how hard Iveliz tries, sometimes people say things that just make her so mad. And worse, Mimi keeps saying Iveliz’s medicine is unnecessary—even though it helps Iveliz feel less sad. But how do you explain your feelings to others when you’re not even sure what’s going on yourself?

Powerful and compassionate, Andrea Beatriz Arango’s debut navigates mental health, finding your voice, and discovering that those who really love you will stay by your side.

Random House Teachers and Librarians