New STEAM Picture Books

Rocket Says Clean Up!

Rocket Says Clean Up! By Nathan Bryon; illustrated by Dapo Adeola

Plucky science-lover Rocket returns in another inspiring picture book about getting a community to notice the world around them, and, in this book, to CLEAN UP! their shoreline.

Rocket, is off to the islands to visit her grandparents. Her family loves nothing better than to beach comb and surf together...but the beach is clogged with trash! When she finds a turtle tangled in a net, Rocket decides that something must be done! Like a mini Greta Thunberg, our young activist's enthusiasm brings everyone together...to clean up the beach and prevent plastics from spoiling nature. Perfect for fans of Rocket Says Look Up! and Ada Twist, Scientist, this book is for any youngster concerned about our environment. Rocket Says Clean Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big and tackle problems head-on.

Solid, Liquid, Gassy! (A Fairy Science Story)

Solid, Liquid, Gassy! (A Fairy Science Story) By Ashley Spires

Fairy scientist Esther is experimenting with the water cycle in this enchanting STEM-and-magic-filled follow-up to Fairy Science, a picture book from the award-winning author-illustrator of The Most Magnificent Thing!

When a pond dries up, fairy scientist Esther doesn't freeze under the pressure. She and her friends go full steam ahead for to make a scientific discovery!

Bestselling author Ashley Spires (The Most Magnificent Thing) creates a charming primer to the water cycle. Includes an at-home water experiment for the budding scientist in your house!

Stand Up! Speak Up!

Stand Up! Speak Up! By Andrew Joyner

From a #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator, and the creator of The Pink Hat, comes a timely picture book about a young girl's mission to inspire others to help the planet!

Celebrate young climate change activists in this charming story about an empowered girl who shows up, listens up, and ultimately, speaks up to inspire her community to take action against climate change. After attending a climate march, a young activist is motivated to make an effort and do her part to help the planet... by organizing volunteers to work to make green changes in their community, from cleaning a lake, to planting trees, to making composting bins, to hosting a clothing swap and more! Here is an uplifting picture book that is an important reminder that no change is too small--and no person is too young--to make a difference.

With simple text and lively illustrations, Andrew Joyner has given young children a timely story about activism, community, and hope.

Stay Curious!

Stay Curious! By Kathleen Krull and Paul Brewer; illustrated by Boris Kulikov

A picture-book biography about science superstar Stephen Hawking, whose visionary mind revolutionized our concept of reality and whose struggle with ALS inspired millions. Perfect for parents and teachers looking to instill curiosity and a love for STEM.

As a young boy, Stephen Hawking loved to read, stargaze, and figure out how things worked. He looked at the world and always asked, Why?

He never lost that curiosity, which led him to make groundbreaking discoveries about the universe as a young man. Even being diagnosed with ALS didn't slow Stephen down. Those questions kept coming. As his body weakened, Stephen's mind expanded--allowing him to unlock secrets of the universe and become one of the most famous scientists of all time.

Stephen always approached life with courage, a sense of humor, and endless curiosity. His story will encourage readers to look at the world around them with new eyes.