Books to Shake Off Those Back-to-School Jitters

All Are Welcome

All Are Welcome By Alexandra Penfold; illustrated by Suzanne Kaufman

Follow a group of children through a day in their school, where everyone is welcomed with open arms. A school where kids in patkas, hijabs, and yarmulkes play side-by-side with friends in baseball caps. A school where students grow and learn from each other’s traditions and the whole community gathers to celebrate the Lunar New Year.

All Are Welcome lets young children know that no matter what, they have a place, they have a space, they are welcome in their school.

Sorry, Grown-Ups, You Can't Go to School!

Sorry, Grown-Ups, You Can't Go to School! By Christina Geist; illustrated by Tim Bowers

This fun role-reversal picture book will help reluctant students get excited for the start of school--no matter what that looks like!

It's just another school morning...until Mom, Dad, Grandma, and even Bow-wow the dog BEG the kids to let them come to school, too! Dad can tie his own shoes--why can't he come? Mom is all ready with her brand-new backpack--she's allowed, right? No! Only kids and teachers!

Christina Geist's warm, interactive story is the perfect tool for parents of kids who are reluctant or nervous about going to school. The fun refrain--"Sorry, grown-ups! You can't go to school! Only kids and teachers! Only kids and teachers!"--brilliantly paints school as something exclusive and desirable...which kids can access! Tim Bowers's lively illustrations enhance the fun and heighten the hilarity. This is sure to be a back-to-school classic in many families and classrooms!

Bunny's Book Club Goes to School

Bunny's Book Club Goes to School By Annie Silvestro; illustrated by Tatjana Mai-Wyss

Bunny and his forest friends meet at the town library every Saturday morning for book club. But one summer day, their library buddy Josie confesses to Bunny that she’s nervous about starting school. Bunny has an idea: He’ll go with her! Soon, Bunny’s friends Bear, Raccoon, Bird, Porcupine, Squirrel, Mole, Mouse, and Frog decide to join him—and Josie’s first day of school turns into a critter-filled adventure!

For any child starting school, here’s a comforting, funny, and very fuzzy celebration of friendship that will make everyone excited to hit the books.

How to Get Your Teacher Ready

How to Get Your Teacher Ready By Jean Reagan; illustrated by Lee Wildish

This humorous new book in the beloved HOW TO . . . series takes readers through a fun and busy school year. Written in tongue-in-cheek instructional style, a class of adorable students gives tips and tricks for getting a teacher ready—for the first day of school, and all the events and milestones that will follow (picture day, holiday concert, the 100th day of school, field day!). And along the way, children will see that getting their teacher ready is really getting themselves ready. Filled with charming role-reversal humor, this is a playful and heartwarming celebration of teachers and students, and the perfect gift for back-to-school readiness or graduation.

My Teacher is a Robot

My Teacher is a Robot By Jeffrey Brown

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes an imaginative picture book about a kid whose creative outlook has everyone at school seeing the world through new eyes. Perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle and The Most Magnificent Thing.

Fred does not want to go to school because it's boring. Especially since he thinks his teacher is a robot. If only Fred could imagine a way for his day to be more exciting...

An inventively funny picture book that celebrates the boundlessness of a child's imagination and celebrates the teachers, families, and friends who get wrapped up in their fantastic worlds.

Take Your Pet to School Day

Take Your Pet to School Day By Linda Ashman; illustrated by Suzanne Kaufman

Wouldn't it be fun to bring your pet to school? Now imagine if EVERYONE brought their pet to school! That's exactly what happens in this hilarious picture book! A lighthearted, perfect read for back to school--no matter what that looks like!

When pets show up with their kids at Maple View Elementary, it's total chaos! These animals have no respect for school rules, and every class quickly gets out of hand. But why did they show up in the first place? Who said they could come? Could it have been...the pets themselves? It turns out they just wanted in on the fun! Now, if they want to stay, they'll just have to behave....

Linda Ashman's bouncy, rhyming text lends itself perfectly to an exuberant classroom read-aloud, and Suzanne Kaufman's playful art is full of hilarious details. A great way to generate enthusiasm for school, this book will easily find a place in pet lovers' hearts.

Take Your Octopus to School Day

Take Your Octopus to School Day By Audrey Vernick; illustrated by Diana Schoenbrun

A hilarious classroom story about an octopus and his boy, from the author of Is Your Buffalo Ready for Kindergarten? Perfect for back to school -- no matter what that looks like!

When it comes to show-and-tell, Sam is in it to win it. But no matter how hard he tries, one of his classmates is always showing him up with a slightly better costume or a slightly cooler object to share. His teacher says it's not a competition, but just once Sam would like to be the best--which is why he's so excited when Take Your Octopus to School Day is announced. Sam is pretty sure he's the only kid with a real live pet octopus to bring, and Thurgood, his eight-tentacled best friend, is excited too. Together, they prepare Thurgood's travel tank and get ready for a school day like no other. . . . What could possibly go wrong?
     Sprinkled with sly humor and scientific facts about the class Cephalopoda, readers who loved Flora and the Flamingo or Sparky! will want to get their tentacles on Take Your Octopus to School Day.

We're All Wonders

We're All Wonders By Written & illustrated by R. J. Palacio

The unforgettable bestseller Wonder, now a major motion picture, has inspired a nationwide movement to Choose Kind. Now parents and educators can introduce the importance of choosing kind to younger readers with this gorgeous picture book, featuring Auggie and Daisy on an original adventure, written and illustrated by R. J. Palacio.
 
Over 6 million people have fallen in love with Wonder and have joined the movement to Choose Kind. Now younger readers can meet Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face, and his beloved dog, Daisy.

Countless fans have asked R. J. Palacio to write a book for younger readers. With We’re All Wonders, she makes her picture-book debut as both author and artist, with a spare, powerful text and striking, richly imagined illustrations. Palacio shows readers what it’s like to live in Auggie’s world—a world in which he feels like any other kid, but he’s not always seen that way.

We’re All Wonders may be Auggie’s story, but it taps into every child’s longing to belong, and to be seen for who they truly are. It’s the perfect way for families and educators to talk about empathy and kindness with young children.