Discover our spring titles!
Discover our spring titles!
Discover our spring titles!
A graphic novel for every bookshelf!
Read a book out loud to your students on February 5!
Read an essay from Melissa Savage!

Find Books and Resources

Search for books and resources by theme, title, author, and series.

Stay in the Know

Sign up for updates about our latest titles, curricular resources, and award information.

Discover a new biography series!

Trailblazers: Simone Biles

Trailblazers

Meet history’s game changers! This biography series is for kids who loved Who Was? and are ready for the next level.

Continue Reading

Featured Resource

Clean Getaway Educators’ Guide

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present that is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds. Download the discussion guide for questions and activities, as well as suggested research topics.

Video of the Month

Book of the Month

145th Street: Short Stories

145th Street: Short Stories By Walter Dean Myers

On Harlem’s 145th Street, things happen that don’t happen anywhere else in the world.

Get to know Big Joe, who’s throwing his own funeral while he’s here to enjoy it, and everyone’s invited. Meet Kitty and Mack, teens with a love story more real than anything they’ve ever known. Follow Monkeyman, the quietest kid on the block and the last person you’d expect the Tigros gang to target. And don’t miss the block party of the year—the whole neighborhood will be there.

From danger and despair to hilarity and joy, literary legend Walter Dean Myers captures every mood and every beat of life in this vibrant Harlem.

This twentieth-anniversary edition of Myers’s work features brand-new content, including historical information about Harlem’s rich past, an immersive map of the neighborhood’s iconic landmarks, and touching tributes from authors, artists, and literary legends. Celebrating two decades in print, this edition honors Myers’s enormous legacy and brings his work to a new generation of readers.

Author Spotlight

Christopher Pinney

Vanessa Brantley-Newton is a self-taught illustrator, doll maker, and crafter who studied fashion illustration at FIT and children’s book illustration at the School of Visual Arts in New York. She is the author and illustrator of Let Freedom Sing and Don’t Let Auntie Mabel Bless the Table and has illustrated numerous children’s books, including Sewing Stories by Barbara Herkert, Mary Had a Little Glam by Tammi Sauer, One Love and Every Little Thing, words by Bob & Cedella Marley, and Presenting Tallulah by Tori Spelling. Vanessa currently makes her nest in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her husband, daughter, and a very rambunctious cat named Stripes. Learn more about Vanessa and her artwork at VanessaBrantleyNewton.com and on Facebook.