New Fall 2017 Young Adult Titles!

We’ve got thrillers and fantasies and dramas ready for your YA readers!

A Short History of the Girl Next Door

A Short History of the Girl Next Door By Jared Reck

Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can’t tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her, he implodes on the JV basketball team, and the only place he feels normal is in Mr. Ellis’s English class, discussing the greatest fart scenes in literature and writing poems about pissed-off candy-cane lumberjacks. If this were a movie, everything would work out perfectly. Tabby would discover that Matt is madly in love with her, be overcome with emotion, and fall into his arms. Maybe in the rain. But that’s not how it works. Matt watches Tabby get swept away by senior basketball star and all-around great guy Liam Branson. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough, but screwing up and losing her as a friend is even worse. After a tragic accident, Matt finds himself left on the sidelines, on the verge of spiraling out of control and losing everything that matters to him. Fiercely funny, honest, and heartbreaking, this novel from a talented new voice in YA is perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews, John Green, and Jennifer Niven.

Genuine Fraud

Genuine Fraud By E. Lockhart

Meet a brilliant almost-eighteen-year-old whose charm and quiet smarts are her ticket into the privileged upper class she aspires to enter as an equal. She is an athlete, an intellectual, a fighter, an impersonator. She should have been a spy, a superhero, the star of an action movie. And yet she became something else. What if it could all be undone? Structurally inventive, this novel will have readers pumped up, following characters who pay keen attention to the smallest detail and who prove that being invisible doesn’t have to be a negative. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge.

Satellite

Satellite By Nick Lake

Moon 2 space station orbits approximately 250 miles over Earth. It travels 17,500 miles per hour, making one full orbit every ninety minutes. It’s also the only home that fifteen-year-old Leo and two other teens have ever known. Born and raised on Moon 2, Leo and the twins Orion and Libra are finally old enough and strong enough to endure the dangerous trip to Earth. They’ve been parented by teams of astronauts since birth and have run countless drills to ready them for every conceivable difficulty they might face on the flight. But has anything really prepared them for life on terra firma? While the planet may be home to billions of people, living there is more treacherous than Leo and his friends could ever have imagined, and their very survival will mean defying impossible odds.

Otherworld

Otherworld By Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

There are no screens. There are no controls. You don’t just see and hear it—you taste, smell, and touch it, too. In this new reality, there are no laws to break or rules to obey. You can live your best life. Indulge every desire. It’s a game so addictive you’ll never want it to end. Until you realize that you’re the one being played. Welcome to Otherworld, where reality is dead. Step into the future. Leave your body behind. The frightening future that Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have imagined is not far away. Otherworld asks the question we’ll all soon be asking: If technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay?

Dear Martin

Dear Martin By Nic Stone

Justyce McAllister is top of his class and set for the Ivy League—but none of that matters to the police officer who just put him in handcuffs. And despite leaving his rough neighborhood behind, he can’t escape the scorn of his former peers or the ridicule of his new classmates. Justyce looks to the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. for answers. But do they hold up anymore? He starts a journal to Dr. King to find out. Then comes the day Justyce goes driving with his best friend, Manny, windows rolled down, music turned up—way up, sparking the fury of a white off-duty cop beside them. Words fly. Shots are fired. Justyce and Manny are caught in the crosshairs. In the media fallout, it’s Justyce who is under attack.

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter By Erika L. Sánchez

Julia is not the perfect Mexican daughter. That was her sister Olga’s role. Olga didn’t go away to college—she stayed home to take care of their parents, clean the house, and work a part-time job. Julia has big dreams, and she wants no part of her older sister’s path. But one mistake—texting while crossing the busiest street in Chicago—leaves Olga dead and Julia to cope with the aftermath. Their parents, who came to Chicago illegally from Mexico to find a better life, are devastated. Julia’s mother seems to channel her grief into pointing out every possible way that Julia fails to be the perfect Mexican daughter that Olga was. But Julia soon discovers that Olga may have had secrets, too. With the help of her best friend Lorena, Julia is determined to find out. Was Olga really what she seemed? Or was there more to her sister’s story? Either way, how can Julia even attempt to live up to a seemingly impossible ideal?

Wild Bird

Wild Bird By Wendelin Van Draanen

3:47 a.m. That’s when they come for Wren Clemmens. She’s hustled out of her house and into a waiting car, then a plane, and then forced to march into the desert. This is what happens to kids who’ve gone so far off the rails their parents don’t know what to do with them anymore. This is wilderness therapy camp. Eight weeks of survivalist camping in the desert. Eight weeks to turn your life around. Yeah, right. The Wren who arrives in the Utah desert is angry, bitter, and blaming everyone but herself. But angry can’t put up a tent. And bitter doesn’t start a fire. And Wren’s going to have to admit she needs help if she’s going to survive. Wendelin Van Draanen shows Wren’s slow and painful journey from lost innocence to found strength. This is a character young teens will absolutely fall in love with. They’ll relate to Wren’s struggles and be gratified by her well-earned recovery.

The Book of Dust:  La Belle Sauvage (Book of Dust, Volume 1)

The Book of Dust: La Belle Sauvage (Book of Dust, Volume 1) By Philip Pullman

Philip Pullman offers these tantalizing details: “I’ve always wanted to tell the story of how Lyra came to be living at Jordan College, and in thinking about it, I discovered a long story that began when she was a baby and will end when she’s grown up. This volume and the next will cover two parts of Lyra’s life: starting at the beginning of her story and returning to her twenty years later. As for the third and final part, my lips are sealed.

Too Shattered for Mending

Too Shattered for Mending By Peter Brown Hoffmeister

“Little” McCardell is doing all he can just to keep it together after the disappearance of his grandfather “Big” and the arrest of his older brother, JT. He’s looking out for his younger cousin, hunting and fishing to keep food on the table, and struggling to stay afloat in school, where dyslexia makes it difficult to keep up. When the cops turn up asking questions about Big, Little doesn’t want to get involved in the investigation. He half cooperates, but his mind is elsewhere, pining after Rowan, the girl JT was dating before he got locked up. Soon Little finds himself drowning in secrets, beholden to the sheriff, to JT, to Rowan, and to Big’s memory, with no clear way out that doesn’t betray at least one of them. And when Little’s deepest secret is revealed, there’s no telling how it could shatter their lives.